On this day, June 9, 1999, the representatives of the Army of Yugoslavia and the NATO signed the Military Technical Agreement in Kumanovo, stipulating the dislocation of the Yugoslavian armed ad police forces from Kosovo and Metohija. The agreement was signed by General of the Army of Yugoslavia Svetozar Marjanović, police General Obrad Stevanović, and British General Michael Jackson. A day later, the Resolution No. 1244 was passed in the UN Security Council.

The most significant provisions of the agreement include:

  • A cessation of hostilities between the NATO forces and the Army of Yugoslavia and Serbian police forces.
  • Dislocation of the Army of Yugoslavia and the Police of the Republic of Serbia from the territory of Kosovo and Metohija over the following 11 days.
  • Establishing a safety zone from the administrative border of Kosovo and Metohija within the territory of the Republic of Serbia and Montenegro, defined as a 25 km air zone and a 5 km ground zone.

With the implementation of the Kumanovo Agreement, the NATO air strikes on the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia were called off, and per the United Nations Security Council Resolution No. 1244, international forces were deployed in Kosovo and Metohija, most of whom were soldiers from countries in the NATO.

With the dislocation of the army and the police, Serbs and other non-Albanians started leaving Kosovo and Metohija in droves.

Parts of the Resolution No. 1244 that are crucially important to Serbia and the Serbian community have not been fulfilled to this day. Discussions on returning a certain number of members of the Army of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, that is, Serbia, to Kosovo and Metohija were never even started, air traffic control was never restored to the organs of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Kosovo and Metohija unilaterally declared independence, and a safe environment for the return of refugees and displaced persons has never been established.