His Holiness Serbian Patriarch Porfirije and Montenegro Prime Minister, Dritan Abazović, have signed today in Podgorica the Fundamental Agreement between the Government of Montenegro and the Serbian Orthodox Church (SOC).

In front of Villa “Gorica” ​​in Podgorica, as a sign of disagreement over the signing of the Agreement with the Serbian Orthodox Church, which has been signed with other traditional religious communities in Montenegro for more than a decade, a protest was organized attended by about twenty citizens.

At its session on July 8, the Montenegrin Government adopted the Proposal for Agreement with the SOC.

The government then announced that it had adopted the Proposal for the harmonized text of the Fundamental Agreement between Montenegro and the Serbian Orthodox Church.

Thirteen ministers in the Government of Montenegro voted for the proposed draft of the Fundamental Agreement with the Serbian Orthodox Church.

Five ministers abstained, namely Defense Minister Raško Konjević, Foreign Affairs Minister, Ranko Krivokapić, Capital Investments Minister, Ervin Ibrahimović, Labor and Social Welfare Minister, Admir Adrović, and Minister without Portfolio, Adrijan Vuksanović.